Debt Settlement???

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by emt974, Dec 1, 2002.

1. emt974

emt974 New Member

Hi all-
    I am a newbie on this site and am on my way to fix what I have broken. I have done some searching and can't seem to find exactly what I am looking for. I have 3 credit cards with Capitol One that are all over their credit limit. I can't make the monthly payments and they just keep tacking on $29 late payment fees and $29 overlimit fee every month. I have seen some talk of debt settlement and want to know how to go about this. Where can I find this information? Can anybody help?

2. jswede4722

jswede4722 Member

There are a few things that you can do. Are you unemployed?. If you are, three months had to elapse. At that point, tell Capital One that you need to go on a special arrangement plan.

If you are not, I suggest contacting Capital one and let them that you are planning to honor your debts but you've hit a hard time in your life. They may give you 6 months non-interest to get caught up (meaning no over limits or interest). If they refuse, I suggest contacting CCCS (Consumer Credit Counseling Service) and ask to get on their counseling program. They will get these extra fees to end and will get you a lower interest rate to help pay down your debt. While you are on CCCS, your credit report will show that you are on credit counseling (which is considered as bad as claiming bankruptcy in some lenders mind) and you will not be able to use those cards. They ask a $10/month fee. This is a viable option because the next step Capital One will take is to close your account, send you to collections or charge the bad debt off.

Capital One is a subprime lender so if you don't get this account in shape, it will really hurt you in the future.

-J

3. ArmySarge6

ArmySarge6 Well-Known Member