Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    yellowlab is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1

    Account Review Inquiry/After BK

    Hi Everyone! I'm new to this forum and hoping for some advice on what creditors can and cannot do after a BK. We filed Chapter 7 in Sept. 2008. It was discharged Feb 2010. We included credit cards and our mortgage in the BK.

    In January 2012 Bank of America did an Account Review Inquiry on my TransUnion. I don't believe they can do this since I no longer have a credit card with them - it was discharged in the BK.

    Also, on my husband's report, (All three bureaus) they started reporting a delinquent mortgage after we filed bankruptcy. Just for a period of one month (He had Greenpoint when we filed the BK, they sold it to Countrywide after filing, who then was bought by B of A - I was not on the mortgage loan). They reported this in 2009 long after we filed and left the house. I've tried disputting this with the bureau's, but B of A verifies it and they keep it on.

    How can I find letters to send them or can I even sue them for this? It's been difficult enough to clean up other items and re-establish ourselves. We would like to buy a house again in the future, and this foreclosure reporting after the BK filing is hurting us.

    Any advise or websites, letters, etc. is greatly appreciated. Thank You!

  2.  
  3. #2
    JoshuaHeckathorn's Avatar
    JoshuaHeckathorn is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,205

    Re: Account Review Inquiry/After BK

    Welcome to Creditnet!

    Account reviews are soft inquiries, so even if it was unjustified on BofA's part, I wouldn't worry about it too much because it doesn't affect your credit scores at all.

    Now, I would worry about delinquent payments being reported post-bankruptcy. The last delinquent payment on the mortgage should be the month you filed your case. If I'm understanding you correctly, it sounds like there are late payments reporting after that time, right? Does the mortgage at least show that it was included in the BK with a $0 balance?

  4. #3
    Heather L is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    345

    Re: Account Review Inquiry/After BK

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowlab View Post
    Hi Everyone! I'm new to this forum and hoping for some advice on what creditors can and cannot do after a BK. We filed Chapter 7 in Sept. 2008. It was discharged Feb 2010. We included credit cards and our mortgage in the BK.

    In January 2012 Bank of America did an Account Review Inquiry on my TransUnion. I don't believe they can do this since I no longer have a credit card with them - it was discharged in the BK.

    Also, on my husband's report, (All three bureaus) they started reporting a delinquent mortgage after we filed bankruptcy. Just for a period of one month (He had Greenpoint when we filed the BK, they sold it to Countrywide after filing, who then was bought by B of A - I was not on the mortgage loan). They reported this in 2009 long after we filed and left the house. I've tried disputting this with the bureau's, but B of A verifies it and they keep it on.

    How can I find letters to send them or can I even sue them for this? It's been difficult enough to clean up other items and re-establish ourselves. We would like to buy a house again in the future, and this foreclosure reporting after the BK filing is hurting us.

    Any advise or websites, letters, etc. is greatly appreciated. Thank You!
    After you have worked hard to clean up your credit so you can purchase a new home, you can also give your credit a boost by adding an authorized user account to your credit. Just ask a family member or friend to add you to one of their existing credit card accounts. The higher the credit limit and the longer the payment history the bigger the boost. The card must have perfect payment history and a low balance to really impact your score. Thanks! Heather with BoostMyScore.NET

  5. #4
    mijd is offline Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    82

    Re: Account Review Inquiry/After BK

    I had three CCs with BOA when I filed chapter 7. Two were paid as agreed and closed prior to BK, and with the 3rd CC, I was never late up to the time I filed for BK. Of any accts that were discharged in BK, none show a review except for all three BOA CCs. Also, BOA changed the status of the one acct to "charged off" the same month I was discharged, although the acct still shows discharged in bankruptcy. The only other charge off was a HELOC which was done 8 months prior to discharge. Does anyone know if this a common business practice with BOA? Thanks....

  6. #5
    JoshuaHeckathorn's Avatar
    JoshuaHeckathorn is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,205

    Re: Account Review Inquiry/After BK

    Quote Originally Posted by mijd View Post
    I had three CCs with BOA when I filed chapter 7. Two were paid as agreed and closed prior to BK, and with the 3rd CC, I was never late up to the time I filed for BK. Of any accts that were discharged in BK, none show a review except for all three BOA CCs. Also, BOA changed the status of the one acct to "charged off" the same month I was discharged, although the acct still shows discharged in bankruptcy. The only other charge off was a HELOC which was done 8 months prior to discharge. Does anyone know if this a common business practice with BOA? Thanks....
    As long as they report on your credit reports that it's included in the bankruptcy, you're OK. They're allowed to report the charge off too.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Sign up for the Creditnet email newsletter.

Creditnet - Find the right credit card for you Best Airline Cards Best Gas and Groceries Cards Balance Transfer CreditNet Best Credit Cards for Building Credit

Find a
Credit Card

Research, compare, & apply

Bad Credit

0% Interest

Cash Back

No Annual Fee

search

Perusahaan Outsourcing Bekasi

Outsourcing Tenaga Kerja