Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review - Credit Repair Forum from Creditnet
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

  1. #1
    JoshuaHeckathorn's Avatar
    JoshuaHeckathorn is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,205

    Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    I know a lot of people in this forum have used an Orchard Bank credit card over the years when they started rebuilding their credit. So now that the Orchard Bank cards are no more, I've received a lot of questions about alternative options. In the secured credit card space there are still several decent options, like the Capital One Secured MasterCard, but there frankly aren't many unsecured credit cards for bad credit left on the market.

    The Credit One Bank Visa Card has been the one I've received the most questions about. So, for those of you that are interested, here's my recent review of the card: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Review: The Pros & Cons.

    As always, if any of you have personal feedback regarding this card, I'd love to hear it.

    Hope you're enjoying the weekend!

    Update: Here's an updated review of the Visa Platinum from Credit One Bank: Visa Platinum from Credit One Bank
    Last edited by Logan Abbott; 07.07.2013 at 09:46. Reason: Updated content

  2.  
  3. #2
    jam237 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,438

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    Biggest CON - Sherman :)
    BCOHEN2010 likes this.
    --
    jam
    An educated consumer.

    Daniel Webster: You seem to have an excellent acquaintance with the law, Sir.
    Scratch: Sir, that is no fault of mine. Where I come from, we have always gotten the pick of the Bar.
    The Devil and Daniel Webster, Stephen Vincent Benet

  4. #3
    JoshuaHeckathorn's Avatar
    JoshuaHeckathorn is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,205

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    I know a lot of people hate Sherman, but this card surprisingly remains as one of the better options in the unsecured space for bad/poor credit. I haven't known too many people who have used it yet, compared to the Orchard Card, so it'll be interesting to see what kind of feedback we get know that Orchard is gone and more people give this card a try.

  5. #4
    Heather L is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    345

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    Quote Originally Posted by JoshuaHeckathorn View Post
    I know a lot of people in this forum have used an Orchard Bank credit card over the years when they started rebuilding their credit. So now that the Orchard Bank cards are no more, I've received a lot of questions about alternative options. In the secured credit card space there are still several decent options, like the Capital One Secured MasterCard, but there frankly aren't many unsecured credit cards for bad credit left on the market.

    The Credit One Bank Visa Card has been the one I've received the most questions about. So, for those of you that are interested, here's my recent review of the card: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Review: The Pros & Cons.

    As always, if any of you have personal feedback regarding this card, I'd love to hear it.

    Hope you're enjoying the weekend!

    I used the CapOne Secured Mastercard a few years back and had no problems with that card and was able to get a $3000 limit unsecured credit card about 7 months after I started using the CapOne Secured Mastercard. Thanks! Heather with BoostMyScore.NET

  6. #5
    BCOHEN2010 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    116

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    I looked at the website. The CreditOne logo is a direct knockoff of the Capital One logo, and overt attempt to deceive customers into thinking this credit card is affiliated with Capital One Bank.

  7. #6
    jam237 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,438

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    B- What do you expect from Sherman?
    --
    jam
    An educated consumer.

    Daniel Webster: You seem to have an excellent acquaintance with the law, Sir.
    Scratch: Sir, that is no fault of mine. Where I come from, we have always gotten the pick of the Bar.
    The Devil and Daniel Webster, Stephen Vincent Benet

  8. #7
    pudgy7 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    I have to chime in here, seeing as I have had the card for years, got it before I knew much about rebuilding my credit. I have some good things to say about the card if you have very bad credit and don't want to go the secured card route. The fees are high, but they stood behind me when my financial situation was bad, I called them and told them what happened and they froze my account so that I wouldn't accumulate over the limit fees, late fees and no blemish on my credit report, once I was able to get caught up, they unfroze the account. Also, they give you a free Fako credit score. Great place to start if you have bad credit, like Josh said, use it as a stepping stone. They also charge $25 for credit line increases. I will be closing it soon, but am thankful for the help they gave me along the way.

  9. #8
    JoshuaHeckathorn's Avatar
    JoshuaHeckathorn is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,205

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    Quote Originally Posted by BCOHEN2010 View Post
    I looked at the website. The CreditOne logo is a direct knockoff of the Capital One logo, and overt attempt to deceive customers into thinking this credit card is affiliated with Capital One Bank.
    I agree- that is really annoying.

  10. #9
    JoshuaHeckathorn's Avatar
    JoshuaHeckathorn is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,205

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    Quote Originally Posted by pudgy7 View Post
    I have to chime in here, seeing as I have had the card for years, got it before I knew much about rebuilding my credit. I have some good things to say about the card if you have very bad credit and don't want to go the secured card route. The fees are high, but they stood behind me when my financial situation was bad, I called them and told them what happened and they froze my account so that I wouldn't accumulate over the limit fees, late fees and no blemish on my credit report, once I was able to get caught up, they unfroze the account. Also, they give you a free Fako credit score. Great place to start if you have bad credit, like Josh said, use it as a stepping stone. They also charge $25 for credit line increases. I will be closing it soon, but am thankful for the help they gave me along the way.
    Nice to hear from someone who has used the card pudgy7. Thanks for chiming in. I didn't know about the $25 charge for CLI, so I'll be sure to look into that and add it to my review.

    Also, I find it very interesting that they were willing to freeze your account while you worked through some financial difficulties. How long ago did that happen?

  11. #10
    JoshuaHeckathorn's Avatar
    JoshuaHeckathorn is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,205

    Re: Credit One Bank Platinum Visa Card Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Heather L View Post
    I used the CapOne Secured Mastercard a few years back and had no problems with that card and was able to get a $3000 limit unsecured credit card about 7 months after I started using the CapOne Secured Mastercard. Thanks! Heather with BoostMyScore.NET
    Just curious- what was the first unsecured Capital One card you were able to obtain after using the secured card for 7 months?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Sign up for the Creditnet email newsletter.

Creditnet - Find the right credit card for you Best Airline Cards Best Gas and Groceries Cards Balance Transfer CreditNet Best Credit Cards for Building Credit

Find a
Credit Card

Research, compare, & apply

Bad Credit

0% Interest

Cash Back

No Annual Fee

search

Perusahaan Outsourcing Bekasi

Outsourcing Tenaga Kerja