Newbie - Captial One question

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by rhondak, Aug 26, 2003.

1. rhondak

rhondak Well-Known Member

Hi, I'm a newbie.

I've actually been working on cleaning up my fiance's credit, not mine. Long story - tell later.

I have read through the FAQs and PsychoDoc's newbie page.

I started the disputing process a couple of months ago before I found this site. I was able to get quite a bit of derogatory items off of his reports and only have a few stubborn ones left.

One of them is an old Capital One account. I believe it's passed the SOL. It's the only item that is still on all 3 CRAs.

I've already sent the letter asking for validation, but now 1) I'm wondering if I even should've done that since the SOL is past. and 2) I saw on another website someone who tried to sue to get CapOne off of their credit report and ended up paying not only the old balance due, but additional finance charges (after their charge off) AND attorney fees! I have to admit that scares the hell out of me.

last activity on the account is 01/01. SOL here is 3 years. (SC). Balance shows $815 on EQ, $806 on TU, and $733. All 3 CRAs have "verified".

Thanks and good to meet you all!

2. rhondak

Captial One question

Bumping this.

Also, wondering if anyone has ever settled with Cap1 in exchange for cleaning up the credit reporting?

What I'm thinking is this; since this is past the SOL for my state, I know they can't collect. BUT if I want to get it off my credit report, would it behoove me to offer to pay it in exchange for them reporting it as never late, paid as agreed, or removing completely.

Has anyone ever tried anything like that with Cap1? The balance really isn't that much (around $750) and I don't mind paying it, but I don't want to "re-age" by making a payment, and I don't want to self-verify by offering to pay.

Any advice?

Thanks,
    R

3. jlynn

jlynn Well-Known Member

Re: Captial One question