Bank of America said I was preapproved - I apply, I'm declined

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by FutureMan, Jan 12, 2007.

1. FutureMan

FutureMan Member

for their BoA Visa card. I have the letter saying I was preapproved, I kept it just in case and lo and behold it's a good thing I did.

So what steps would you all take next? Obviously I plan to fight this, the inquiry jocked my credit score FIFTEEN POINTS. If that wasn't enough, they straight up lied about my approval status.

2. FutureMan

FutureMan Member

Basically I just want to know how I should go about fighting this. From the annoyed loyal customer standpoint, or the this is illegal I'm going to sue standpoint? I've been banking with BoA for 6 years.

3. ontrack

ontrack Well-Known Member

Request that BofA send you an adverse action notice, to notify you in writing the reason for which you were declined credit, and which reports they pulled in making that decision. They are required to provide it.

Use that to request free copies of those reports, and if there are any errors on them, dispute them thru the CRAs.

4. ontrack

ontrack Well-Known Member

What are your FICO scores?

How many inquiries do you have in the last year?

What is your current debt to available credit, as seen from your credit report?

5. Snowboard

Snowboard New Member

never reply to automated offers. its best to call a bank or credit union, find out the requirements, pull your credit from CRA direct as a consumer pull, then see if fico works for what the bank needs. if have a report with higher score, pick a bank that pulls that bureau. call the bank and ask a lofficer what score they need, etc.

6. Chuck.E

Chuck.E Member

No Offense SnowBoard....But I have to disagree with you.

#1. Typically "Pre-Screened", "Pre-Selected" or "Pre-Qualified" offers go through a more streamlined approval process than would a Cold or unsolicited application may be subjected to.