Cancelled by AMEX and Confused

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Austin07, May 26, 2009.

1. Austin07

Austin07 Member

Hello All -

I am a newbie and have a "fair" score that I've been working on the last 5 months.

Recently, AMEX cancelled my card. I've had this card since January 09.
    My charges are usually in the 1200-1600 range each month. I usually pay on or before the due date. Sometimes I pay parts before the due date, just to bring the balance down.

There was ONE instance where I paid half of the due amount 7 days prior the due date. The rest, I paid 6 days just after the due date. Of course, that was discussed with an AMEX agent, just to make sure that I did not appear to be delinquent borrower.

Apparently, this is not good enough. AMEX cancelled my card four days ago.

Their reasoning for the cancellation were:
    - Payment history
    - Credit report from Experian

I honestly thought that I was on the right track. I paid AMEX (and other cards) on time (except for that one time - 6 days after AMEX due date).
    I'm also minding the debt/credit ratio healthy as well as keeping my inquiries low.

So to have a CC company cancel a card, is like someone breaking up with you over text or email... not a good feeling.

The AMEX agent I spoke with can only say "They cancelled your account due to your payment history and your credit report, ma'm"

I though to myself... aren't my payment history okay. I know that there hasn't been anything different on my Experian report, since I first opened the AMEX account. So I am sad and confused.

Should I attempt to reapply? or Should I ask to be reinstated, when clearly they closed it due to my history? Sometimes it feel so defeating.

Has anyone experienced this? If so, what did you do, after pulling your hair that is... hehe

Any directions on how to handle this would be much appreciated.

Again, I am a newbie and eager to learn.

Best,
    =)P

2. Hedwig

Hedwig Well-Known Member