Help! Complaint received by Apothaker & Associates

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by EC, Dec 24, 2010.

1. EC

EC Well-Known Member

This is a bit time sensitive, as I have another 5 days or so to respond to a legal filing.

I'm a long time forum member, but haven't been on this site in 4 years. (My credit is plain shot.) Now I could really use your thoughtful ideas.

I need some legal assistance for my next DIY legal step. (I'm not a lawyer, don't have a lot of money, and try to do a lot of things myself.) I'm not trying to completely avoid a debt, but can't afford to pay 13k (or even a settlement of 4k) right now because I'm in active home foreclosure and am trying to keep my house through loan modification. Also, I was recently laid off. Apothaker & Associates (AA) chose the absolute wrong time to file a suit against me. I'm either trying to stall until I can make a settlement of 4-5k, or just plain defer this issue for several months so I can land back on my feet and see where I am at that point. I tried free lawyer consults, but they won't touch me knowing I'm in active home foreclosure and can't afford their 2500 retainers. So I'm resorting to "Google Law". I've read and read, and created my own case filing account at the local district court.

BACKGROUND: I opened a sole-proprietorship account with AMEX in 2006, never converted to LLC, accrued 13k business expenses, business died in 2008, account charged off in 2009. (It's still well within SOL.) I think Apothaker & Associates (AA) bought the debt, but I don't know for sure if they are REPRESENTING AMEX or if they are just COLLECTING for a party that bought the debt from AMEX. (Debt may have bounced around by now.)

AA harassed me at my work number (before I was laid off.) I made the mistake of getting smart with AA on the phone one day and told them to "cease and desist". Immediately after, they filed a COMPLAINT in my local court. (NOT a summons.)

I was served the COMPLAINT by AA in October: