Can this be removed from my credit report? If so, how?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by steversimo, May 29, 2015.

1. steversimo

steversimo New Member

I graduated from college in December of 2008, and I moved out of my (campus) apartment in February 2009. My roommate was moving in a few months, so I decided to be nice and (foolishly) let him keep my Reliant electric account, since I was moving in with my parents anyway. Well, a couple of years ago, I was running my credit to buy a house and discovered that I owed $280! At the time, I was told that letting it age out of my credit report was the best solution, and that bringing it back up would be bad. Well, it turns out that a collections agency is after me. I can pay the $280, but my question is â?? should I? I can probably prove that I moved out before the charges were incurred, if that would make any sort of difference, but since the delinquency is current, there is clearly no reason to not deal with it. Does anyone have any ideas?

2. mindcrime

mindcrime Well-Known Member

Proving you moved won't make a difference, unless your intent is to show the account is fraud, which it doesn't appear to be.

If your roommate moved in May 2009, the DOFD is likely at the 6YR mark at this point.

Are you past your states SOL?

Paying the account will NOT reset the reporting period, FYI.

3. steversimo

steversimo New Member

The collections agency shows the "Opened date" as 2/11. Will it be 7 years from then, or 7 years from when the Reliant account FIRST went delinquent?

4. mindcrime

mindcrime Well-Known Member

Opened date means nothing. The debt can be sold (again) to assigned elsewhere and the opened date would then be 06/15. Reporting time goes from DOFD, not open date.

The latter, as you wrote, is correct.

5. Akronguy

Akronguy New Member

I wouldn't pay it. Unless they remove the negative posts paying it won't help your credit score.

6. jam237

jam237 Well-Known Member