24 y/o & destroyed credit-pls help!

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by nycguy, Sep 9, 2003.

1. nycguy

nycguy Member

I've been reading CN for quite some time, but would really like a few pointers for my specific situation.

I graduated from college last year and up until now, wasn't so great at paying my bills on time.

Because of these negative remarks on my credit reports, I can't get credit with anyone. I almost didn't get an apartment in Manhattan because of this credit. I needed my parents to guarantee the lease.

Currently, my TransUnion CR shows two accounts that are unpaid and in collections. One is an electricity bill ($70) and the other is for an optometrist visit ($75).

I spoke to the collection agency about my two unpaid bills (both are with the same collection agency in Wisconsin). They would NOT agree to delete the negative remarks if I paid.

The TU CR also shows my Discover Card account, which I closed last year, as having paid in full, but late 30 days one time.

My Equifax CR shows a phone bill that went to collections, but now paid in full.

My Experian CR shows the paid phone bill account, as well as my Discover Card account that is now closed. It also correctly shows me as an authorized user on one of my dad's Citibank cards. The CR shows the monthly balances as well as open/never late. This is the only good mark on that credit report, but is it really a good mark?

As I wrote before, no one will give me credit. I applied for an overdraft line at my bank and they denied me. Same story for an AMEX card and a Chase card.

What can I do about the two accounts that are unpaid and in collections if the CA won't delete the remarks upon payment?

I really appreciate any advice regarding my situation. Will my credit ever improve? I made some poor decisions in my college years, but now I am determined to pay everything on time and manage my credit well.

Thanks so much,

nycguy

2. jlynn

jlynn Well-Known Member

Yes your credit will improve.