Abuse of Fake LKH Reported

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Chris, Mar 27, 2001.

  1. Chris

    Chris Well-Known Member

    The following was submitted to abuse@PRSERV.NET the ISP of used by LKH to post the offensive material.

    To Whom It May Concern:

    On of your users is posting derogatory, sexual, and racially abusive posts to a credit card board.

    The information on the poster, as displayed on the board:

    POST 1
    Author: LKH (---.az.us.prserv.net)
    Date: 03-27-01 07:16

    Nigger George and Whore Christine you both did a good job on my BIG COCK over the weekend.

    Think you very much

    POST 2
    Author: LKH (---.az.us.prserv.net)
    Date: 03-27-01 07:45

    Are you mad because you was not there to go down on his BIG COCK.We will invite you next time the only reason you was not invited is because you take so long to get around with your walking cane.


    I have also reported this to the web site administrators.

    The site is at: http://consumers.creditnet.com

    Thank You.


    If you are not aware, it is an easy task to match a customer's records based on the information that we have:

    03-27-01 07:45 az.us.prserv.net
    03-27-01 07:16 az.us.prserv.net

    az.us.prserv.net is registered to:

    AT&T Global Network Services (PRSERV-DOM)
    425 N. Martingale Road
    Schaumburg, IL 60173

    Domain Name: PRSERV.NET

    Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact:
    AGNS Tech Support (AT5937-ORG) abuse@PRSERV.NET
    425 N. Martingale Rd. Suite 300
    Schaumburg , IL 60173
    Fax- 847-407-7941

    Record last updated on 23-Mar-2001.
    Record expires on 30-Sep-2005.
    Record created on 30-Sep-1998.
    Database last updated on 27-Mar-2001 01:56:00 EST.

    Domain servers in listed order:


    You cross reference this information with the ISP's information and this will give you the customer who was dialed in, or logged on at that time, coming from that particular address, and you have the information..
  2. mother2

    mother2 Well-Known Member

    thank you Chris for helping.

    I wish I had your brains about this internet stuff or I would have turned him in myself. But I'm learning...slowly but surely. Mother is proud of you. Thanks for watching my back! ;o)
  3. LKH

    LKH Well-Known Member

    Re: thank you Chris for helpin

    Thanks for reporting that Chris. I didn't see the posts until just now. It's good to know that someone did something. I also have reported. If any board members see more of Bobby's nonsense posts, I would appreciate you making a copy of it so that when the pbm deletes it, it will be available to me for future recourse.
    Thanks - LKH
  4. Nave

    Nave Well-Known Member

    Re: thank you Chris for helpin

    I sent a report to prserv.net as well. I think if I do not hear back from them that something was done, I will notify AT&T's abuse dept about their downstream ISP. -Dave
  5. Chris

    Chris Well-Known Member

    Re: thank you Chris for helpin

    we need the full DNS or IP address...


    We need the "---" portion to do anything. I received a response from the prserv.net abuse people.. The only ones who can give us the "---" are the admins for this board...
  6. mother2

    mother2 Well-Known Member

    Post another header asking

    for it.
  7. Nave

    Nave Well-Known Member

    Re: Post another header asking

    I sent an email with a copy to pbm and webmaster of creditnet.com. -Dave
  8. AnnMarie

    AnnMarie Well-Known Member

    Re: Post another header asking

    Just like newsgroups, "public" bulletin boards like this one are often focuses of this kind of abuse and many times admins won't even look at it......
  9. Chris

    Chris Well-Known Member

    Re: Post another header asking

    Response from CreditNet

    Dear Straight Talk Patron,

    Thank you for your report.

    We do not condone and will not permit abusive behavior by board users. Though no summary judgements will be made, all complaints we receive are actively investigated, and action is taken when appropriate.

    We have added the offending IP address to our deny table. Note that the individual does not use a static IP address, and will therefore be able to return to the board if his/her IP address changes. However, we continue
    to monitor the board closely, and together with the help of board users such as yourself can respond quickly to disruptions on Straight Talk.

    To prevent similar behavior in the future we will be switching board software very soon. The new software will still allow everyone to read messages, but only members of the board will be able to post. We believe this step will help reduce the number of trolls and offensive postings on Straight Talk.

    We thank you for your continued patronage, and look forward to seeing you on Straight Talk.


  10. AnnMarie

    AnnMarie Well-Known Member

    Re: Post another header asking

    I'm tellin' ya, the board owners/admin are GREAT
  11. Nave

    Nave Well-Known Member

    Re: Post another header asking

    Reply to the Creditnet email asking them to forward the prserve users IP to abuse@prserve.net with a snippet of your email from them as evidence that they need the rest of the IP numbers to investigate the matter and they are willing to do something about it once they have the exact IP. If I get a similar response from them I will do the same. -Dave
  12. LKH

    LKH Well-Known Member

    Re: Post another header asking

    Thanks for the help guys. I have been in contact with the pbm and others for a period of time now concerning this, and can assure you that the pbm has already contacted the isp. However, I ask again, that should any further postings be made by someone using my name, please save it for me for further use should I miss it.
  13. Yolanda

    Yolanda Guest

Share This Page