Advice on Disputing Collections

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by wickedaj87, Jul 15, 2014.

1. wickedaj87

wickedaj87 New Member

Hello!
    This is my first time writing to this forum and I could use some advice so I'll just jump right in to it.

I'm 26, and my credit score is 568 with Experian (which is what it seems most places where I live use) and I have 19 open collections on my account. ALL of which are medical collections from 2009 and up (until this past year I was in and out of the ER before and after a kidney removal) so it's all medical debt.

It used to be 21 but I Disputed all of them with the "I have no knowledge of this debt/this is not me" reason and got it down to 19.

Right now, I need help with knowing my options and how to proceed so that I can stop feeling like I'm in this dark hole I can't ever crawl out of. My bank won't lend to me, I can't get loans but I pay all my bills in full and on time. I have no credit cards (because the APR at my score level is outrageous).

A lot of these accounts have my last name WITHOUT the apostrophe in it. (O'Neil), can I dispute this as being not me?

North Carolina's SOL for medical debt says it's 3 years, but what does this mean exactly? Does this mean that they have to close the account after 3 years but it remains on my credit report for up to 7? Can I dispute open accounts if this is the case?

Also, any advice on how I can bring up my score or remove these collections?

Thanks in advance!

2. jam237

jam237 Well-Known Member

To survive a NOT MINE dispute, they only need to match 2 of 4 identifiers. NAME, ADDRESS, SSN, DOB

That is why 19 of your accounts survived the NOT MINE dispute.

To learn more, I recommend you look at Johnson v. MBNA, it explains the dispute process, and what they need to verify and to what level, for a particular dispute.

Are the 19 accounts with a collection agency?

Did you send a validation letter to the collection agency?