Am I headed in the right way?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Mirage, Mar 26, 2001.

1. Mirage

Mirage Well-Known Member

This board is a god send, as I have found more information here than all the other boards combined. The purpose of my posting is seeking comments and suggestions on my plight towards better credit. I classify myself as in the rebuiding stage.

Background

I filed BK 13 in 1996, and have been discharged in Aug. of 2000. I have been carrying a Cap 1 (secured) since 1996. I have only seen one increase in all those years ($200.00, cl now stands at $700.00) which occured last summner. Since Oct.
    I have been keeping a close eye on the over limit fees and posting of payments. In reviewing the past postings here, I have mailed in and online paided more than the min to bring down my owed balance to credit line ratio. I also called Cap 1 for a increase but the rep told me that my account is due for a review in the first week of April and that I should wait for that. I also have received a letter for Cap 1 last month for a 5-1 secrued credit line. The upshot is for every $100.00 I deposit they will increase my cl by $500.00. I rather not goes this route as it can tie up to $600.00 more of my money. They alreadly have $500.00 secured.

My second cc is a Providian Gold, with a starting line of 2K, which was increased to 2.2k last Nov. I think I am either due for a review or had one and did not get one b/c of my nearly maxed balance. I am also taking steps to lower that balance to 50% by mid-summer. I have never gone over limit or late with this card. I also applied for their invite only MC with the $1000.00 cl, but still have not received it yet. The purpose is to booster my rating. This card will be used for emergencies and reservations, as it carries no grace period.