An inc CC line reqst = CRA inquiry?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by DaveH, Oct 28, 2001.

1. DaveH

DaveH Well-Known Member

Quick question: if I ask a credit line issuer to raise my limit, does that count as an inqury against me? TIA, and apologies if I missed that in the FAQ.

2. GEORGE

GEORGE Well-Known Member

If they do a credit report, YES.

I ask for them to increase the credit limit "WITH-OUT" a credit report...because it kills my F.I.C.O. score...if they WON'T, I tell them I am not interested any more...and will take my business elsewhere...(I just DON'T use the card for a while)...

I went from $900/WEEK to $0/WEEK on DISCOVERCARD because they REFUSED to increase the credit limit and lower the BT rate...AFTER THEY LOST OVER $7,000 IN TWO MONTHS, THEY LOWERED MY BT RATE FROM 9.90% TO 5.90% AND THEY INCREASED THE CREDIT LIMIT $4,000 ALL WITH-OUT A CREDIT REPORT...

3. OtherTerri

OtherTerri Well-Known Member

I think it varies by creditor, but I am not an expert!

George, Good for you! At least you can get a creditor to work with you even if the cb's on't!

4. DaveH

DaveH Well-Known Member

Thanks for the replies :)

Follow up: this AM, I checked out Citibank's web site to see what they'd say under "credit line increase." Immedialy, a dialogue box popped up saying, "Congratulations! We can increase your line by $1,500. No credit report was pulled for this analysis." It also gave the option of asking for a bigger increase using an on-line form (I'm assuming that using that would have required pulling a file,) and calling to decrease your line.

Very easy and impressive. Kudos to citibank on this.

5. GEORGE

GEORGE Well-Known Member

I wish I had cards that did that...all I have is cards that you must write, call, or fill out a bunch of questions on-line (application)...

6. GEORGE

GEORGE Well-Known Member