applying income?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by ericch, Aug 25, 2000.

1. ericch

ericch Guest

Hi. I am a student and am wondering if it's possible to apply for any of these credit cards when my income changes all the time. I do not want to apply for a college card unless it's absolutely the only way. I am in the consulting business and my income differs depending on if I have work or not. Since my parent's support me mostly, I do not have any other form of income. How should I apply?

I just tried nextcard, but they rejected me saying my income is too low. I estimated around 5000, but guess that's still too low? Thanks for your help.

EC

2. Momof3

Momof3 Well-Known Member

Most cards I have seen require atleast 18K a year I believe

3. Jim

Jim Well-Known Member

All credit card companies have their own internal standards for income requirements. Since your income always varies and is on a lower level than most of the companies will require, you are better off not to apply for a card that you are not sure you will get.

Your adding inquiries to your credit report, and this can hurt you in the credit building stages.

You do want to try Citibank and Capital One. They have exclusive College Student Credit Cards and have minimal standards for these cards. I received my first Citibank card while in college based on zero income.

If you insist on trying to get a non student card, I would not apply on the internet, but I would call the Credit Card company and discuss your situation on the phone. You should reveive a definate answer as to if they can help you, without sacrificing an inquiry on your credit report.

A good point on the college cards, is that alot of the programs they offer, have lower interest rates and fees than most regular cards offer.

You may also want to try a secured card. Most of these banks do not have the income standards that regular cards carry and this is a great way to build credit, while earning some interest on your money.