Balance Transfer

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by JD, Feb 14, 2001.

1. JD

JD Guest

I have a Providian MasterCard, $1000 limit at 23.9 with a $700 balance. I've had this card for three months. I just got a Household Bank card, $1000 limit at intro rate for 6 months at 3.9. I want to do a balance transfer which would bring the Providian card down to a 0 balance. My question is: By moving the balance, would it hurt my chances for a line increase on the Providian card.

2. Greg

Greg Guest

I don't think it would. I did a transfer for $4,700 from Providian @ 16.9 to my Southwest Airlines Plat card @ 2.9 for 7 months and then 9.99 for the life of the transfer. After the payment posted to Providian, they automatically increased my limit $1,000. I also received a letter to increase by another $1,000 for $75. I declined that offer.

3. Donna

Donna Well-Known Member

I've never done a balance transfer. If you wouldn't mind explaining, how are they generally done? Do you just call up your creditcard company, ask if that particular option is available, give them the account info on the balance you want to transfer and they process it?

If you get a card with a low rate, I can see where a balance transfer would really come in handy.

Thanks much.

Donna

4. JD

JD Guest

Thanks Greg

Think I'll go for it.

5. JD

JD Guest

Donna - This will be my first one. The Household Bank card I have offered it, and it can be done on-line.

6. Greg

Greg Guest