Can anyone recommend a card fo

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Andrew Bro, Dec 5, 2000.

1. Andrew Bro

Andrew Bro Guest

My situation is this: I don't have a long credit history, but I do have an auto loan and a (recently acquired) mortgage, so this will change over time. I am on a good salary. I have nothing that I have defaulted on.

I mainly want a card for:

1) Online shopping, to get the fraud protection and insurance on the goods
    2) Damage insurance on rental cars

I don't need a huge credit limit and am not too bothered about the interest rate, because I will pay all or most of it off every month. I am a US permanent resident. I have a Visa card issued by a British bank, but it doesn't show up on my credit report.

I was thinking about AmEx blue, but how many physical and Web stores actually take AmEx or Discover, as opposed to Visa?

Thanks

2. sam

sam Well-Known Member

RE: Can anyone recommend a car

Any garden variety visa with purchase protection, ie nextcard or citibank clik cards will do what you want.

Amex is less accepted, and generally charges a higher transaction fee to its merchants. Discover, is even less accepted.

MBNA visa offers one-time card #'s.

3. Sorin

Sorin Well-Known Member

one-time #

Discover has it also....

4. Sorin

Sorin Well-Known Member

Amex is harder to get. I would recomend Citibank Platinum Select. It's relatively easy to get, and has the best platinum benefits I've seen. They also have wonderfull customer service, I am speaking from experience because I had to deal with them a lot.

Discover is nice also, you get 1% cashback, but the benefits are not as good as citi..

5. Andrew Bro

Andrew Bro Guest

Interesting. My mortgage is with CitiMortgage, so maybe that'll help my application. There again, maybe they won't take it into account at all. I'll let you know.

6. Saar

Saar Banned