can student loans help CR?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by doodyhead, Nov 20, 2001.

1. doodyhead

doodyhead Well-Known Member

Just wondering, will student loans help my fico scores?

I have the opportunity to go back to school & get tuition reimbursement from my company - I am thinking of taking out the federal student loans, then paying them with the reimbursements

2. roni

roni Well-Known Member

The unofficial answer is NO. Student loans do not help your overall credit file until they are almost paid off. They are a insignificant factor in the major scheme of credit scoring and I think that is because so many people have them. OF course if you are late or default then they hold the negatives against you........ironic

3. Erica

Erica Well-Known Member

I respectfully disagree with roni. I can see where she is coming from, but my student loans show up as installment loans in good standing. I can't see how that WOULDN'T help your scores.

I'm not an expert or anything, so take this with a grain of salt.

4. roni

roni Well-Known Member

My student loans show up as "in good standing" as well.....but that is besides the point.

My information comes from a 'credit expert' - Christi commenting on this topic 1.5 years ago on a credit repair message board.

That person stated what I posted and I was just sharing the information.

But, you feel you loans are helping your scores, you are certainly welcomed to think so.

5. roni

roni Well-Known Member

please note tha I am referring to credit SCORES and not overall credit rating.

Let me give you an example, back when I was repairing credit, I disputed my 11 defaulted student loans and got my 11 charge offs changed to paid never late.

WOW! You would expect my credit score to sore. I mean I got 11 defaults changed to perfect installment loans....NOT