Cashing in 401k to pay off debts

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by mleichtle, Sep 10, 2003.

1. mleichtle

mleichtle Member

Hi, I'm a newbie here. From cheesy Wisconsin, and I'm sick of paying bills for nothing. Now I ask the great forum for your infinate wisdom and knowlege.

Here's the skinny;
    I make about $400/wk after tax. Wife is stayhome mom, trying to start day care buisness. She quit her job 2 yars ago but still has a 401k there.
    Credit cads;
    fnanb $3500 19.9% current
    Sears $1300 19.9% current
    Student loan $4000 6% ahead
    Direct merchant $6000 29.9 PERCENT 12 DAYS LATE THEY'RE ALEADY CALLING 3 TIMES A DAY!

We live on the cheep side, even qualify for a welfare program for the baby (wic), but can't seem to come up with more than the minimum payments each month. our two cars are getting old and we'll need a new (used) one pretty soon.
    DMB closed my account but I still owe, If I could get rid of it I could easily take care of the rest. My plan is to cash in the 401k (since she's no longer working) and pay it off. We think we can get $8000 from it after the tax hit and all. Then come back here and start working on our credit scores and Int. rates. We havent had a late payment in about 2 or 3 years.

Any thoughts appreciated.

2. DanS

DanS Well-Known Member

See if you can swing a loan against the 401k. If you can't do one now, find a bank or credit union you can transfer the 401k to that will give you a loan against the IRA.

Then take out whatever you can, pay off the highest interest loans and pay the lower interest rate loan back. Ideally, that bank will report on your new loan and that will help your credit report.

3. Hedwig

Hedwig Well-Known Member

Don't cash the 401(K). That's your retirement. The more money you put in at an early age, the better. Read Butch's thread on the Rule of 72. You lose a lot of doubling time if you pull this out, not to mention the taxes you pay.