Chexsystem question

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by gagliano3, Sep 3, 2003.

1. gagliano3

gagliano3 Well-Known Member

My wife and I have just 1 ever NSF on ChexSystem from our old Credit Union bank (account has been closed eariler this year)

my CU refuse to have NSF removed from our ChexSystem because it is a fact! I told them that charge caused NSF is when I verbally closed account, that charge was made in December 2002 but didn't post till April!

ChexSystem can't do shit either.

Any suggestion how to have our NSF off ChexSystem?

TIA!
    Thomas Gagliano

2. snakeman

snakeman Well-Known Member

I have a lot of experience (sadly) with Chexsystems.
    Heres the scoop.

1. Reported information remains on your report for 5 years.

2. Chexsystems is governed by the same laws that CRA's are.

To have this information removed you need to do the following:

First get a copy of your chexsystems report. Then use the included dispute letter to dispute the account. It doesn't matter if the account has been paid or not, if there was an NSF or other activity they have every right to keep it there for 5 years.

I have found that disputing the negative information using the "not mine" approach works best.

Dispute this until they send you a letter validating, in which case dispute it again.

If you receive a letter stating they have removed it for whatever reason, GET TO THE BANK AND OPEN YOUR CHECKING ACCOUNT NOW. If you fail to do that quick enough, the removed item can be replaced back on your chexsystems report. Sometimes it happens that they do verify the account after the 30 days is up. Anyways hope that helps.

3. gagliano3

gagliano3 Well-Known Member

My wife and I already have Wells Fargo for our checking and savings accounts.