co-borrower filing bankruptcy

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by overhead, Feb 5, 2008.

1. overhead

overhead Member

I am a co-borrower on a home (not the Primary Borrower). I am considering filing bankruptcy. Will the home be affected?

2. bizwiz41

bizwiz41 Well-Known Member

In general no, the home will not be impacted, assuming payments have been timely to date. However, the primary borrower will have to try to get the mortgage in his name solely. This may be a problem if the borrower does not have the means for approval.

3. enigma

enigma Well-Known Member

Yes it will. Since you are a co-borrower the BK will show on the other borrowers CR thereby tanking the co-borrowers scores.

You will have to reaffirm the debt or if you don't, depending on the terms of the loan, the loan **could** be accelerated.

You REALLY need to consult with a GOOD BK attorney.

4. overhead

overhead Member

Sorry, I'm new to this. What do you mean by 'reaffirm?'

5. enigma

enigma Well-Known Member

The debtor can chose to reaffirm debts that would otherwise be discharged by the bankruptcy. Generally, when a debt is reaffirmed, the parties to the reaffirmed debt have the same rights and liabilities that each had prior to the bankruptcy filing: the debtor is obligated to pay and the creditor can sue or repossess if the debtor doesn't pay.

6. overhead

overhead Member

thanks for the help and fast replies. Talking about CR will chapter 13 have the same impact on my record as would chapter 7?

7. bizwiz41

But is the "primary" borrower making the payments in timely fashion?

And can you detail the primary/co-borrower status please? Are you the co-signer? Or are you a minority owner?

8. overhead

overhead Member

Yes, the mortgage payments are on-time and current.

One of my relatives is the primary and I am the co-signer/co-borrower on the mortgage loan. Both our names are on the deed of the home.

9. jlynn

jlynn Well-Known Member