Collection nearing SOL. What do i do?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by timtim, Jul 19, 2009.

1. timtim

timtim Member

Hello,
    I'm a newbie here! I've been doing alot of research but still have a few questions i haven't yet found answers to.
    Here's the scoop:
    I was evicted from an apartment in September 2005 that i only lived in for
    2 and a 1/2 months. This now shows on my credit report that i owe over 5k. My CR shows the date of last activity as 11/05 and submitted to collections 2/06 and date updated 10/08.
    The SOL for my state is 4 years but what date do i go by?
    Nobody from a CA has contacted me about this collection in about 3 years. Should i wait for the SOL date to try and deal with this? Is there a process i should follow that would entitle me to have this removed from my credit report after the SOL date.
    Also, my roommate that was on the rental agreement with me, never actually signed it. So if the CA has the contract but it only has one signature, do i have any advantage?
    I also have a few other derogatory accounts that i would like to contest and they are all at least 4 years old. Will the 4 year Statute of Limitations help me in getting these removed or do i need to do the whole validation process?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Tim

2. flacorps

flacorps Well-Known Member

If there was a court case, there may be a judgement, so you would go by the SOL on judgments in the state where the court case was. If there's no judgment, then it's possible that the SOL is up in the Aug/Sep '09 time frame (if you're looking at the right SOL ... many states have different SOLs for different classifications of contract types and you may not have your classification correct).