Correctly counting 30 days?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by lawgrl2b, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. lawgrl2b

    lawgrl2b New Member

    Hi, a bit of a newbie per se...

    My question is what is the proper way to count the 30 days? is it 3? business days, 30 days regardless of weekends n holidays (like regular bills) or 30 days but adding on time for any holiday periods.

    I know to allow for mail delays and once they recv it (provided I have a cert mail receipt) start count. ex. ca recvs letter on june 1st by my count they have until july 1st but I wld give until approx July 5th due to mail sys

    Am I right by my example?
  2. jlynn

    jlynn Well-Known Member

    Collection agencies or credit reporting agencies? Collection agencies do not have to respond in a certain time period (unless you are in TX), you r July 1 +5 is good for CRAs. The statute says 30 days, not 30 business days :)
  3. lawgrl2b

    lawgrl2b New Member

    im in tx so how does that chng things
  4. jjgross

    jjgross Well-Known Member

    Texas law is more consumer friendly you can go to the State website and check the law's for debt collection.
  5. collectman

    collectman Well-Known Member

    In Texas a collection agency must simply notify the debtor within 30 days including the validation as required, or simply telling the debtor they need more time.
  6. apexcrsrv

    apexcrsrv Well-Known Member

    It changes nothing for cra's and they can take up to 45 days if they deem the dispute is derived from a free report.
  7. lawgrl2b

    lawgrl2b New Member

    oh ok. thx it mks more sense now. I used to be in Ilinois so they are a little different . I like tx laws
  8. jlynn

    jlynn Well-Known Member

    And if they don't include validation, and they are reporting, they must "change the item in the relevant file as requested by the individual" - that is why you always include in a TX DV a request that they delete the info from your reports. ;)
  9. lawgrl2b

    lawgrl2b New Member

    Oh ok that I didn't know I'll be sure to note that thx a lot
  10. jlynn

    jlynn Well-Known Member

    Look up Texas Finance Code Chapter 392. Its your best friend when it comes to debt collection in Texas.
  11. phantom

    phantom Well-Known Member

    They also do this if they feel like me, my disputes from my 100% paid for reports were still being investigated 40 days out.

Share This Page