Cust wrote bad check..bus prob

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Dani, Oct 19, 2001.

1. Dani

Dani Well-Known Member

Hi. As everyone probably knows I'm an accountant for a small business in VA. I have never dealt with the problem below and did not know what to do about it. Hoping everyone can offer me some advice.

We have a customer who was on a net 30 account. It took her eight months to pay one invoice. I did not send her to collections because I felt I could work out a payment program with her and our company could retreive our money for work performed. After many phone calls, letters, and a payment agreement she paid off the account. As of December 2000, I put her account on a COD basis. She placed two service calls at the beginning of this year and both were paid via check, COD basis. She placed another call in June and the check bounced. I contacted her about this and she said her bank messed up and she would send me a good check. This was in July. She also, wanted to place another service call. I told her no because the newest check had not cleared and she had not made good on it.
    I sent her a letter in September stating please pay us along with the returned check charges. Did not hear from her in 30 days. I called again and told her we need to deal with this situation. She said she didn't have the money and since I would not place the service call she asked for in July she felt she was being treated very shoddy. I told her, you have got to understand I cannot place a service call for a customer who has not made good on their payments. She then said she wasn't paying and hung up.