Debt Validation - experts plea

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Marie, Feb 7, 2001.

1. Marie

Marie Well-Known Member

I've been asked a couple of times how I've made collectors disappear. I'm not an expert and maybe I got lucky... but what I do is question the debt with a collection agency and ask for proof. Give them 30 days, they never respond, send another letter enclosing first letter and proof of service, and they normally back off or delete the trade line.

I bought this letter,I think, but can't remember where (may be kielsky) so I'd like to give credit... Please, experts chime in and give opinions if it's correct/ can be improved.
    The first letter:

Notice:
    This notice is my response to your unsigned letter dated XXX (Copy enclosed).

As I have no account with you, nor am I your customer, nor have I ever entered a contract with you, nor have I ever even heard of you. I must ask you to provide the following information:
    1. Please evidence your authorization under 15USC 1692(e) and 15USC 1692(f) in this alleged matter.
    2. What is your authorization of law for your collection of information?
    3. What is your authorization of law for your collection of this alleged debt?
    4. Please evidence your authorization to do business or operate in this state.
    5. Please evidence proof of the alleged debt, including specifically the alleged contract or other instrument bearing my signature.

You have 30 days from receipt of this notice to respond. Your failure to respond, on point, in writing, hand signed, and in a timely manner, will work as a waiver to any and all claims in this matter, and will entitle me to presume that you sent your letter in error, and that this matter is permanently closed.