Default Student Loan Advice

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by mmc, Apr 3, 2008.

1. mmc

mmc New Member

I am very frustraded with my student loans. I have been paying them for the past 5 years and it seems that somehow I still have loans that are in default. Everytime that I get set up with collections agency they tell me that I can consolidate my loans and make just one payment a month. Then after the loan gets returned to Sallie Mae, They claim that I still have loans that are in default and send it back to a different collections agency. I am very frustrated since everytime the loan is passed to a collections agency I have to deal with the exhausting persistent harrasment tactics that they use. Today I just got off the phone with a company called Outsourcing Solutions Inc. and they were so rude and insulting all because I refused to give out all of my husbands financial information. I am currently unemployed as a housewife. At this present moment I solely attend to my 3 small babies so I do not have a source of income. Although I explained to them my current situation and am more then willing to repay my loans in which way I can. They refused to accept my offer. I offered to pay $50 a month since I am out of work and that amount I know that I can definitely afford without putting any strain on my family. My phone call was passed to a "Supervisor" and she went on to insult me telling me that the amount to be paid was for them to determine based on my husbands income and not for me. I tried my best to explain that my husband refuses to disclose any of his personal information since it is his right to do so. Although we are more than happy to make the $50 payments until our situation betters she went on to tell me that I had to abide by their terms not them by mine. She was extremeley patronizing and went on to tell me the responsability of marriage and that he HAD to do this and that for me as a wife. I got very upset and all I could possibly say at this mom