disputed old tradeline with Equifax

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by shawbee, Aug 16, 2003.

1. shawbee

shawbee Well-Known Member

I am a newbie and felt like I was making progress until I received updated info and scores from Equifax. My fico was 704 before I disputed my only neg account from at least 5 years ago. With some other positive changes in debt ratio my fico went to 726 by 8/13/03. Then equifax verified my neg account but it seems the old account was re-aged and now I have a new neg comment about past due being too recent. My scores plummeted to 667 just at the time Usaa pulled my report for a credit card. Has this happened to anyone else and what do I do now.

2. jlynn

jlynn Well-Known Member

Can you tell us exactly what it said before, and exactly what it says now?

3. shawbee

before I disputed the old neg it had one positive comment about how my most recent past due payment is old or unknown but after the dispute they added a new neg that says the time since your most recent past due payment is too recent or unknown. On both reports they had a neg of evidence of being seriously late. Then they dropped the positive statement that the most recent past due is old or unknown

4. jlynn

jlynn Well-Known Member

LOL, I meant the tradeline in question.

5. shawbee

6. shawbee

the tradeline was Capital One. I have written goodwill messages through PFB, to the CEO, and to the address given by Equifax as to who verified the tradeline. I just did that so I haven't heard back. Hopefully I will be given forgiveness and it can be resolved that way. I pulled both TU and EQ the same day and did the same thing. They both showed scores in the low 700s but once it was verified, and I also fixed the high debt ratio, TU has my score at 724 while EQ has it at 667. Its very depressing. USAA would have probably approved me in the low 700s but after EQ got through.

7. shawbee