Does pre-approved mean anything?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by kenny, May 7, 2001.

1. kenny

kenny Well-Known Member

I see so many people getting pre-approved for this and that but it still causes a hard inquiry and most of the time you don't get approved. Does it really mean anything to be pre-approved for a card or is it the same as picking up a app for a gas station and filling it out.

2. DaveLV

DaveLV Well-Known Member

There is a section on your credit report that shows "promotional" inquiries. I've found in all but one instance that if I get a "pre-approved" application and send it in, I get the account.

Amex Optima once sent me a pre-approved application and denied me because of my tax lien.

Because I am a computer professional and am on a lot of mailing lists as such, I get a lot of "invitations" to apply for cards I know I will never get. By creative use of my middle initial I can tell what list the company got my name from. There is never any promotional inquiry on my report from any of those companies that send these "inivitations". Typically if I get an offer to apply for something, I can look in other people's mailboxes at work and everyone has gotten the same offer.

So, I think that "pre-approved" means something most of the time. There are those here who do not agree.

3. Momof3

Momof3 Well-Known Member

From my experience it all depends on what information they request from you. If they only ask you to sign it and give social security number and phone number, then you have a pretty good chance, only ONCE have been denied after accepting a preapproval.

The preapprovals I got:
    Amex
    Citi Plat
    Sears
    Associates
    Spegiel
    Discover

I received them all except Discover, and with their 2 cycle billing who needs them, they are now on my internal "black list"

Preselected, invitation to apply, those I stay clear from.

Mom

4. greyfox

greyfox Well-Known Member