Drowning in debt. Please help!

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Stress, Apr 19, 2004.

1. Stress

Stress Member

Please advise me on what to do. I'm a complete newbie.

I have $60,000 in credit card debts that I've accumulated over the past 6 years, much of it while I was in medical school. Unfortunately, the high interest keeps piling on and my debt keeps swelling. I'm currently in training so I can barely pay the minimum monthly payment of $37,000.

I will be done with my training in 4 years, at which time I should be able to pay off this debt. In the meantime, I wish I could have a little breathing room. My modest salary barely pays for rent, food, books, car insurance, gas and the minimum credit card payments.

Here's my debt.
    Card #1. First USA. $24,000. APR 20%
    Card #2. AmEx. $13,000. APR 24%
    Card #3. Chase $8,000. APR 20%
    Card #4. Omaha bank. $15,000. APR 20%.

What can I do to lower the monthly payments? Are there ways to convert this to a lower-interest rate loan? I've contacted the card companies to lower the interest rate but I've been turned down each time.

I don't want to file bankruptcy because it's a debt that I know I can eventually pay off. Also, I don't want my credit rating to deteriorate any further (scores already in the low 500s) and I have plans to buy a house in 4 years after I finish training. Additionally, I don't want to suffer the humiliation if these collection agencies or bankruptcy proceedings somehow involve the hospital where I work (like garnishing my wages, verifications, etc).

PLEASE ADVISE ME WHAT TO DO!! THANKS!!

2. clc

clc Well-Known Member

Dear Dr. Stress,

I know you don't want to hear or read this but I think you are a perfect candidate for a Chapter 13 bankruptcy.

The chapter 13 bankruptcy is called the "wage earners" plan. This plan would not only stop the "interest bleeding" but it would also give you 3-5 years to pay on whatever debts you have.