FHA Mortgage

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by SM, Apr 19, 2001.

1. SM

SM Guest

I see people talking about FHA mortgages and assume they require excellent credit history. I have on CC charge-off that I am currently negotiating with the CC company. I have a GMAC charge-off that is not mine and I have been fighting for two years. I just sent them an "intent to sue letter" and I have 5 30-day lates in the last two years.

So...is this something I could possibly work out with an FHA loan? I need a low down payment. I have excellent rental history for 7 years now. I pay a large rent amount also. Will they work with me if I am trying to get these negatives handled? Oh, yeah, I have one medical charge-off for $90 - which I will pay if I have to. I have written that collection company a validation letter.

Any advice on where to see if an FHA is applicable for me?

2. shell26mi

shell26mi Member

My husband and I have an FHA morgage and when we 1st got it they made us pay everything still owed on our report. I don't think they really care too much what is reported as long as it shows PAID. Not an expert though, just my experience.

3. SM

SM Guest

You mean as far as collections? We have a car loan with a 14K balance and a couple of small balance, current credit cards. Did they make you pay off everything or just charge-off and collections?

4. judyputy

judyputy Well-Known Member

No, all collections, etc. have to be paid.

5. shell26mi

shell26mi Member

we just had to pay collections and those sort of things..also had to bring any past dues current.

6. mother2

mother2 Well-Known Member

Wow! It sounds like much but not really as bad. Did you have to be current for 1 yr? Or 2yrs?

7. mother2

mother2 Well-Known Member

What does the min score have to be to qualify?

8. fng

fng Guest