FICO credibility?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by EPM191, May 28, 2001.

1. EPM191

EPM191 Member

I am a new member. I have been browsing this forum for last 5 months, I belive this forum is one of the best place to find credit related information in the web. With this forum, I strongly belive many people will be benefited to get their credit improved. Also I want to say thank you for many active members who devote their time to answer repeated questions and share thoughts.

Since we now can access credit score through Equifax and few other credit information services(even though their score is not precise), I came to think about credibility of scoring system. As I read from one of the post, there is tendency that emphasis is on debt balance ratio (or even amount) than payment history. What I found is as long as you do not have any negative item and too many inquiries, you can raise substantially your score in short period of time (as short as 1 or 2 month) by reducing revolving balance. I had score of 682 last month with $3,430 of balance and after reducing balance to $87 , my score is 7 19 this month. If this is the case, credit scoring system is not reflecting long term credit management ability, but financial status of certain point which can never be exact judgement for someone's credit history. I want hear your precious opinion.

2. DaveLV

DaveLV Well-Known Member

The interesting thing about studying behavior (and that's what credit scoring tries to predict) is you get more accurate results if the subject you are studying does not know about the study. As long as the data in a particular person's credit file is accurate and that person isn't consciously aware of the credit scoring system I'd guess that that person's credit score is a very accurate predictor of future behavior.