Getting credit reports

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Nave, Mar 10, 2001.

1. Nave

Nave Well-Known Member

Hello,
    I know I have negative items on my Credit Report (from card denials) and I wanted to view my report online before I request them in writing from the CRA's - I am obtaining them in advance of retaining Lexington (I am lazy :) I read they needed me to send them my reports and I want to get them before I sign up.

So I was about to get my report from WorthKnowing (because it is free) when I read the "Terms of service agreement" I saw that I essentially gave WorthKnowing, and their affilliated card issuers, access to my report for 90 days to make "pre-approved" offers and other such reasons.

Is this something I should be concerned about? or is it simply stating what credit card issuers can do anyway to inquire about my credit whenever they wish. Do their inquiries show up adversly on my report?

And while on the subject since I am new to this whole credit repair stuff, what is the best way to obtain copies of my report? Does MY inquiry show up on the report each time I ask for my own reports? Does this adversly effect me in any way?

Sorry to ask so many questions but I want to begin this whole thing the right way.

Thanks, any help is appreciated. -Dave

2. Nave

Nave Well-Known Member

Also while searching for answers from older posts, I read a post from cautious saying:
    ---------------------------
    Author: cautious (---.dallas41.tx.pub-ip.psi.net)
    Date: 11-20-00 22:52

So far, worthknowing has been baiting w/ offer of a free credit report, in exchange for your personal information, while placing countless hard inquiries. Be very careful.
    -----------------------------