Goodwill Letter - What do you think?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Bouncn'Bak, Dec 22, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Bouncn'Bak

Bouncn'Bak New Member

I am sending the following goodwill letter to the holder of my student loan account. There were two periods where I became seriously deliquent (90+ days) due to job loss. Severeal months after the job loss, I learned about the forbearance agreement for hardships, well I took advantage of this...not before the damage was done to my credit report. I am now making my scheduled monthly payments and am asking for my first and only goodwill adjustment. What do you think of this letter I am sending:

Dear Mr. CEO,

I am writing to you today regarding my student loan account #XXXX, which I had while I was an undergraduate student at _________. The purpose of my correspondence is to see if you would be willing to make a "goodwill" adjustment on the reporting of this account to the three credit agencies (Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion). This is my first and last request for an adjustment of this nature.

I have been a customer of EdFinancial since 1999 and have been very happy with the service on this account. However, I was not the ideal customer and made mistakes with the handling of my account. Due to two job losses over the past two years (in 2008 the company liquidated my division and in 2009 the company filed bankruptcy) and significant decrease in household income, I was unable to keep up with my monthly payments during two separate periods. Until I researched my options, I was unaware of the hardship forbearance agreement. As soon as I became aware of this option, I contacted EDFinancial and entered into this agreement to minimize the affect any future late payments would to do my credit profile.