help Marie? SOL meaning?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Ender, Feb 20, 2001.

1. Ender

Ender Well-Known Member

I have a ton of derogatory marks on my credit record. I haven't made a single payment since 1997 or so. There are numerous 30,60,90 day late payments and multiple chargeoffs listed as well.

I am a resident in CA. The SOL is 4 years from my understanding? Now, what are my options? I read previously in Marie's post that at this point there is no point in doing a "validation". I believe that I should do a "not mine" with the CRA? Is this correct? So this means I don't need to contact the collection agencies at all? There is one collection agency that has been persuing the debts lately.. NCO has bought out 3 of my old credit card debts and now the total they are asking for is $17k. The original total before they bought was $14k. They said they are willing to settle for $6.5k. Is there any reason to talk to them at all? I told them to send some proof or breakdown of what I owe them in the mail.. I recently received a statement listing the 3 cards and the total of $17k.

I also recall judgements being an issue when dealing with credit/collection, etc. Now, the only judgement that I am aware of happened with NCA, another collection agency. The original debt was around 800, plus interest came to 1300 or so is what I owed the creditor. The collection agency demanded I pay them $3200 after receiving judgement against me. Back then, in 1997 I didn't know what a summons meant or anything legalwise.. anyhow, I ended up settling with them for $2500 in a money order. I asked them how this will help my credit.. they told me to dispute this with the CRA and they wouldn't respond and it would fall off my record.

Thus, that's the only judgement that I am aware of.. now, my question: how does the SOL affect me? Does this mean I don't deal with the collection agencies any longer?