HELP! Where to start...

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by AntiCRA, Nov 2, 2001.

1. AntiCRA

AntiCRA New Member

Hi,
    I am new to this board. I am fairly new to this whole subject. I have been doing some research online though. I started out thinking we would have to file bankruptcy. We have had a combination of difficulties contributing to our circumstances. My husband had an emotional breakdown and had to stop traveling (an integral part of his job and our income) and he took the only job he could find locally which about halved our previous income. During that time we had to use credit cards, cash advances to pay bills, buy groceries etc, to top off some depression spending as well while he healed. We used cash advances to help pay off the negative equity in a car loan so we could sell the vehicle and get rid of the $400/mo payment. We had previously refinanced our house and taken out a second at 125% LTV. We had paid off credit cards with that. Therefore we had a bunch of accounts which were open for use during that time. His prior company kept asking him to come back and he finally did after he felt he could travel again for a while.
    When he first started back it took a month before he received any commission (which is half our pay). It seemed we would be on our way to healing but even with full commission we couldn't make all our payments. We started selling things on e-bay and other forums. This helped us keep up for a while. Now because of the Sept 11 even and the down turn in the economy they have not had much work to send him out on and commissions are way down.