Help with First USA, need advice

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Struggler, Jul 11, 2001.

1. Struggler

Struggler Well-Known Member

Hi, folks. I'm a newbie to the board but I've been reading posts for some time now. Recently, my wife bought the Lexington credit repair kit. Everything in it makes sense to me. I understand credit because of a former job I was in. Anyway, we got in trouble a couple of years ago. First USA now owns three of the credit cards we have. The Lexington kit says that if a loan is unsecured (read:credit cards), and you owe less than $10,000.00, you probably have nothing to fear from the creditor except intimidation. I've been on FUSA's "assist" programs for two years, sending them money every month and now I owe MORE than what I owed two years ago (naturally).

I have two questions:

Does anyone have a contact for someone with FUSA who can make a real decision? I want to settle the accounts, preferably with a "deletion of prior negative credit" clause.

Between the three cards, we "owe" about $15,000.00 due to late charges, over-the-limit fees, usary interest rates, etc... What are the chances that they would try to come after me legally? I understand that it would cost them probably $10,000.00+ to do so.

I'm not a deadbeat! I WANT to pay them a fair settlement and at the same time, I don't want them punishing me for years to come on my credit reports.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

2. MartysGirl

MartysGirl Well-Known Member

What do you guys think... Lets help him out he is new to the board...!!!

MartysGirl ;-)

3. cable666

cable666 Well-Known Member

I'm 3.5 years delinquent with FUSA for over $25k. I think that qualifies me to attempt to answer.

They are not going to negotiate a positive credit report for a payments.

I have not been sued, yet. On the other hand, I have no assets to sue for, and I owe a fortune to other CC's too.

Note: Your results and mileage will vary.... blah blah blah.

4. breeze