Hide or Face?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by cashback, Aug 27, 2003.

1. cashback

cashback Active Member

Ok.

Sincere thank you to all you guys who's helping me right now. But I think I am confused.

It's because someone tell me to face it but others tell me hide!

This is brief explanation of my current situation.

I have several credit card debits. Some of them are huge(Over 20K or 30K). I've been paying minimum payment for many years and decided to stop paying them. So I did stop paying them from last May.
    I have a descent job, I have some savings from 401K but they are garnishing significant amount of money for child support directly from my pay check.

Anyway, Once I stopped paying them, I've decided to follow this validation tactics.

---FACE
    For those credit card account with large debit, I am planning to give them some hard time and settle for 30% of what I owe them. If everything goes smooth as I planned I will be very happy.

But like some of you know, I got a letter from a collection attorney who threatened me to sue.
    I don't want to get sued! because I know that they are all my OWN debit and not much ground to dispute at the court.

I realized that if I follow this validation tactic then I risk law suits. I think this is one negative side of this tactic.

However, by asking validation, spending some time to age the debit and making settlement (deletion in return) I hope I can quickly come back to normal life.

--- HIDE
    Someone tell me to just vanish. and not talk to them. If I vanish, they can't sue me. So I am safe from law suit. However, I have to wait for full 4 years of SOL (california) to mature. During that 4 years, I have to live in dark with no credit or whatsoever. (By the way, while I am in this "underwater mode" can I still contact CRAs to repair my credit record?)

So, I am confused.
    Looks like both strategy has it's own good and bad side.

What would you masters do, if you were in my situation?

- cashback