How bad off am I? (slightly lo

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Mike2, Oct 18, 2000.

1. Mike2

Mike2 Well-Known Member

After years of assuming my credit file was a war zone and taking for granted credit was out of my life, I began reading this board, and finally got up the courage to get my reports. Lo and behold, my nemisis, a long overdue student loan I've been paying for the past 6 years on time isn't on any of my reports. What I do have is a Providian Charge-Off from 1997 on all three, another collection from 1994 which is just about to fall off. I have a judgement on one (experian) which wasn't debt-related, but was a dispute over severence with an employer (they won).
    And that, is just about it. A few inquiries, none initiated by me. I have no positives at all, I've avoided credit on most levels. I do have a digital phone account (not reporting), and I do have a Direct Merchant's Bank card which hasn't reported me to any of the CRA's even though I have had them for 8 months and have paid perfectly, and kept low balances.
    The question is, how bad off am I? I need to buy a newer car. I'd like another card with a larger balance for work travel. What should be my strategy? Thanks in advance, this board is incredible! The posts here have made me feel like I am not alone.

2. newcomer2

newcomer2 Guest

RE: How bad off am I? (slightl

The DMB card will report sooner or later they wheren't reporting for the first year i had them . latly they started reporting after they changed their policy. as far as i know they've reported to equifax and experian. nothing on transunion (yet ) .

3. MrBelvedr

MrBelvedr Guest

That is not bad at all man. Go get yourself a Capital one card.

4. Mike2

Mike2 Well-Known Member

Cap 1 rejected me in August. I need the 94 stuff to fall off before I'll get anything new.

5. MrBelvedr

MrBelvedr Guest

even for a secured card?

6. Mike2

Mike2 Well-Known Member