I must rant....

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by David, Apr 27, 2001.

1. David

David Well-Known Member

....for a while--can't take my frustrations out on the kids or the dog, so I'll do it here.

A little background: I'm a loan officer, never filed BK, and haven't had a late payment since 1995. I have a FICO of around 633 (give or take, depending on who is spitting out the number).

My wife, on the other hand, filed a Ch 13, discharged in 1996 (legitimately--i.e. divorce).

So, I consolidate on the mortgage back in October, 2000; saving myself $400 a month and tons of interest.

Go to refi at Bank America; can't do it because of a Sprint account for $68 turned over to TWO CA's.

Also have a PAID collection from a $86 doctor bill that I paid to the hospital within three months of the billing, but somehow this got turned over to a local CA--whom I never even heard from during the time the bill was due (and paid).

Sent my 3 validation letters this past Monday (one to the local for the $86, two to the CA's for Sprint).
    Got a response from the local today: a computer generated letter that basically says nothing, along with the account sheet from the hospital.

And here my FICO sits at 633--give or take. So I go to Eloan to check; "Your score will improve by 1 point the next month due to normal aging of your bureau".

Blow me.

What drives me to drink are the posts I come across that brag about a Ch 7 discharged in '00, or '99, and THEIR FICO IS BETTER THAN MINE?

Or other posts that state "I had 15 derogs removed from my bureau--ALL COLLECTIONS!!!".

On top of it all, I'm always very careful to not have
    excessive inquiries; that changed tonight--I APPLIED FOR 3 CREDIT CARDS ONLINE.

No instant approvals--let the turndown letters begin!

Sometimes I want to go "you know, I've worked for 6 years to make sure nothing is ever late, EVER, EVER, EVER--piss on you, I'll pay you when I damn well feel like it."

Sorry for the rant--