invisible judgement

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by shawnnar, Jul 5, 2001.

1. shawnnar

shawnnar Member

In '98 our house was foreclosed on. At the time, we had a second on the house through The Money Store. They have been trying to collect the debt since then. I am in CA and don't know if they can collect after a foreclosure. Now the collection agency they are using states we have a judgement against us and called my employer stating the need to garnish my wages. We just bought a house last month and this supposed judgement did not show on any of our reports. I'm not sure what to do about this. It's not effecting my credit, just my mental health. We have a Sub-Prime Mortgage which goes from fixed to adjustable in 2 years, so I want to make sure we're A+ then.

I need advise on how to get rid of these people.

2. Hope

Hope Well-Known Member

I'm no lawyer, but I think you need to consult one immediately.

Meanwhile, were I you, I'd not speak to these people over the phone anyone and request that they not call you at work. And get current copies of all your CR's.

I know this has got to be stressful for you. But I think you'll want to take action now.

Good luck to you.

3. Kay

Kay Member

The first place to start is the court file on the foreclosure. See if the Money Store was a participant in the original foreclosure. They had to be served in the case because they had an interest. It is possible that they filed the proper paperwork at that time and got a judgement against you. You did not say how much you participated in the lawsuit, if at all.

If they do have a judgement, then it may not have been picked up on by the CRA's. That would explain why it is not on your credit report.

Look at the court file first. Then, you need to see an attorney.

4. dlo64

dlo64 Well-Known Member

Shawnnar,