Late Payments - Long and Complicated :(

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by lil.sis, Jul 24, 2008.

1. lil.sis

lil.sis New Member

Hi guys,

First and foremost fantastic site. I have been doing a lot of reading and I have learned a TON about credit and I wish I had stumbled upon this earlier. So THANK YOU in advance. I look forward to becoming an active part of the community and helping the little guy in battles against THEY.

That said, I have a bit of a problem on my hands here.

I'm a 23 year-old college graduate who just returned from a year in China where I taught kids English. While I was over there, I had a relatively limited income (approx. $650 a month) so I applied for economic hardship deferral of my student loans (citibank and my university). in addition, before leaving, I had a $500 credit line with capital one (wish I'd known about this site earlier!), balance at 0, and a $500 credit line with HSBC at around $350. These are cards I started freshman year of college in hopes of establishing credit history so that I could do things like finance cars upon graduation (haha!). I did not spend out of my means, and I always made my payments on time.

Before leaving I set up an automatic withdrawal from my bank account to pay for HSBC, around $20 bucks a month, and decided I would keep paying Capital One manually since it was a very small amount.

So in July '07, I set up mail forwarding and ship over to China.

It is important to note that up to this point I had been receiving e-mail reminders from HSBC that my payment was due. Then I set up automatic withdrawal. I have an e-mail saying I successfully scheduled the payment for 8/15/07. Then the e-mails stopped, leading me to think everything was fine. This e-mail address remained current for the duration of the year.