Mortage questions

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by BruteForce, Nov 8, 2001.

1. BruteForce

BruteForce Well-Known Member

What is the best credit position to be in when applying for a mortage? I'm in the middle of cleaning a rather nasty credit history, yet I'm afraid that by the time this is done all the good rates will gone. So what is really looked at? 12 month history? 24? Also, what kind of scores should I be aiming for? I'm full of questions aren't I? :)

Also, I am a vet so I'll be using the VA Home loan program if that makes a difference.

Thanks in advance.

2. sam

sam Well-Known Member

the biggest thing i believe they want is that all your bad debts are paid in full.

3. doodyhead

doodyhead Well-Known Member

if you're going for a VA loan, they're going to look at your last two years (no lates), and will want all bad stuff like chargeoffs/collections paid off. VA is stricter on credit than FHA.

4. Jamee25

Jamee25 Well-Known Member

I am pretty much in the same position... I have found out a bunch of stuff over the past few months that may be helpful because a few months ago, I really knew nothing about what to do and how to qualify for the VA.
    We have a bankruptcy that will be two years old in Jan. We have been dealing with a mortgage broker, we havent had to pay him anything, which is fantastic. Dont go to a subprime lender just because you have previous credit problems, they will charge you more, and make you feel scummy. The company I have been speaking with told me that we need 2yrs from BK, all collections or anything like that paid off...All debts dont have to be paid off, just the collections. He told me that the VA doesnt go by your FICO to determine your rate which is great news to me. My Fico is about 590. He says if its below 500, that can be a problem, but in the mid 500's and up will be fine. You may have to write a letter of explanation as to why you had problems.