Separate names with a comma.
Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Momof3, Apr 20, 2001.
Barclaycard Ring™ Mastercard®
No annual fee, No balance transfer fees, No foreign transaction fees, Low interest!
CREDIT CARD WITH NO ANNUAL FEEBarclaycard Ring™ Mastercard®
Credit One Unsecured Visa®for Rebuilding Credit
Credit card for people with bad credit to rebuild credit!
BAD CREDIT CREDIT CARDCredit One Bank® Rebuild Credit
First Access VISA® Credit Card
Access to credit even with bad or limited credit! Reports to 3 major credit bureaus and accepted wherever you see the Visa® sign. Get application response in 60 seconds.
CREDIT CARD FOR BAD CREDITFirst Access VISA®
Green Dot primor® Visa®Classic Secured Credit Card
Credit lines available up to $5,000! Reports to three national credit bureaus; perfect card for reestablishing credit. Guaranteed approval*!
SECURED CARD FOR REBUILDING CREDITprimor Secured Visa Classic
Credit One Bank® Unsecured Visa® with Cash Back Rewards
Get cash back on every purchase. Unsecured credit card with monthly monitoring for credit line increases. Improve your credit history with responsible use.
CASH BACK UNSECURED VISACredit One Bank
Not Nana but.....
You can usually visit your state government's website. Look for a link to the department that handles corporations or the Secretary of State in some states. Most have a search function that allows you to look up the company by name, and determine if they have filed to do business in the state. Many provide information on whether they have paid their annual fees. You can also locate a "registered" or "statutory" agent, which is the person you serve process on if filing a suit.
I did do a search of the govt website..and found most of the information in a search for the state Attorney General's website..
CO has their info in PDF format, IL has theirs in a searchable database. It also will tell you, in some cases, if there are disciplinary actions in play or in the past.
Which state you thinking of?
Virginia, I searched their home state site and found nothing. Maybe I am not looking right for it???
I'll go see what I come up with! GEt back to you
I have bad news..maybe..this is what was listed for Virginia collections at lawdog
"Collection Agency Licensing Requirements:
There is no licensing or bond requirements for conducting collection activities in the State of Virginia"
However, what state is the collection agency in..that is also a factor! If you let me know, I'll tell you what I can..
IN my case
I decided to go read the Illinois law regarding the collection agency that is representing themselves to me as licensed, even so far as providing me a number (which is expired for over a year). Nope, I REALLY don't think I'll worry too much about them..Intend to write them back with the validation letter (as to their right to collection) and a sweet little blurb about their illegal practice and penalities. I bet they find my check they are pretending to not have received. (Call it nana's instinct!)
225 ILCS 425/4.5)
Sec. 4.5. Unlicensed practice; violation; civil penalty.
(a) Any person who practices, offers to practice, attempts to
practice, or holds oneself out to practice as a collection agency
without being licensed under this Act shall, in addition to any other
penalty provided by law, pay a civil penalty to the Department in an
amount not to exceed $5,000 for each offense as determined by the
Department. The civil penalty shall be assessed by the Department after
a hearing is held in accordance with the provisions set forth in this
Act regarding the provision of a hearing for the discipline of a
(b) The Department has the authority and power to investigate any
and all unlicensed activity.
(c) The civil penalty shall be paid within 60 days after the
effective date of the order imposing the civil penalty. The order shall
constitute a judgment and may be filed and execution had thereon in the
same manner as any judgment from any court of record.
(Source: P.A. 89-474, eff. 6-18-96.)
Re: IN my case
Damn they have an aegncy in Va and FL But thanks so much for taking the time to look that up.
Hmmm...FL? Are they using that as a return address? Which is their main agency?
Apparently, Florida is governed by laws on collections as stated below:
The State of Florida requires both commercial collection agencies and consumer collection agencies to register with the Department of Banking and Finance and annually renew such registration, providing the registration fee, information, and surety bond.
Part V, Chapter 559 of the Florida Statutes sets forth the registration requirements, procedures and penalties for commercial collection agencies which fail to comply with these requirements.
Part VI, Chapter 559 of the Florida Statutes set forth requirements for registration, procedures, enforcement action against violations, prohibited collection activities, consumer complaints, and both civil and criminal penalties against consumer collection agencies which fail to comply with these requirements.
Detailed information on collection agency licensing requirements may be obtained from the Office of Comptroller Department of Banking and Finance State of Florida Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0350