Need advice with filing a dispute

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by BeverlyH, Aug 29, 2001.

1. BeverlyH

BeverlyH New Member

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time posting here and I'm hoping someone might be able to help.

I need some advice for a dispute I'm planning to file. I just got a copy of my credit report from Experian and there is an item that has "imcomplete" information.

Here's what happened (sorry so long winded - it's kind of complex):

My husband and I bought our first brand new car in January of 1999. After making a payment or two he lost his job, our rent was $1400 a month etc etc...you get the picture. The loan then went into reposession. However, we had moved out of state and they could not locate us. My mother then agreed to help us catch up the loan. I contacted the bank and found out the amount to bring the loan current. I then sent the bank a cashiers check for $4,000.00 and we resumed making payments.

A few months later we considered trading the car in and getting something with lower payments. However after the car dealership pulled our credit report we were informed that the loan was still in "charge off" or "reposession" status and they could not take it in as a trade.

I then contacted the credit union for an explanation and was told the account would stay a "charge off" or until it was completely paid off. In the meantime they did not report the $4,000.00 payment we made or the subsequent payments we made on our credit report. Also on my credit report it states the charge off amount as $16,549 when we actually had the balance paid down to around $10,500.