Need help desperately, long

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by cbearcat6, Jun 6, 2001.

1. cbearcat6

cbearcat6 Member

Hi everyone. I have been rebuilding my credit for the last 2 yrs. I have made great strides since finding this site. I have 7 cc now with limits from 1000.00 to 9000.00. I have been on time and never overlimit in 2 yrs. I have'nt went about disputing anything on my file yet but was thinking about doing this. I have a judgement in the file for 2,200.00 from about 4 yrs ago. It was for a car repo. I recieved a letter today from a local attorney representing this company. It is demanding 3,360.00. How can it increase so much after judgement has been made. Here is what the letter says,"Please be advised that your past due account gas been forwarded to this office for COLLECTION. uNLESS IMMEDIATE PAYMENTS ARE MADE OF THIS DEBT, OUR OFFICE WILL BE FORCED TO PURSUE FURTHER LEGAL ACTION AGAINST YOU.which will only result in additional expense and inconvenience for you. Unless OUR OFFICE recievespayment regarding the above account or agrees to accept payment arrangements within 5 days of the date of this letter, you will be subject to legal action without further notice. It then tells me I have 30 days to dispute this debt. the last paragraph reads" The fact that you have 30 days to indicate a dispute may not prevent us from diling a lawsuit within that period of time. This letter is an attempt to collect a debt, and any information obtained will be used for that purpose. What should I do? Can they sue me again on the same debt ? And can they sue for a different amount on the same car 4 yrs later. I would appreciate any advice. Just as I start to look forward to the future this happens.Thank you in advance. Suzanne

2. tom65432

tom65432 Well-Known Member

Re: partial answer

I don't know all the particulars, but here is a reasonable answer. This answer assumes they have a court judgement against you.