Need help with creditor.......

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Rayan, Mar 25, 2000.

1. Rayan

Rayan Guest

I know this is a bit off topic for this board but I just dont have anywhere else to go:)
    2 months ago I moved from my apartment complex early and forfeited the 500$ deposit. They sent me a letter demanding another 170$ for cleaning the stove, refrigerator,...... just cleaning. Its been 2 months now and I would rather pay the bill or see it settled in some manner than tarnish my credit report. Can they put it on my credit report? If I pay can I force them to sign something to waive the right to put it on my report? Or better yet, what would you do?

Any and all responces welcom.......Im new to this type of warfare and just need advice....
    Thank you all for your time

2. Manda T

Manda T Guest

RE: Need help with creditor...

As I work in this field, I can tell you that they can definately put this on your credit report. My company gives 30 days to pay the balance or we turn it over to collections.

I would go in to the office and pay the debt in certified funds. Ask for a reciept! Also, ask them to put it in writing that you have settled the debt.

Even after you have paid the debt, be prepared that while they will report that the debt is settled that will still be considered a bad rental reference.

3. Steven Z

Steven Z Guest

RE: Rental Blacklist

As somebody who works in this field I presume you would know which blacklist your company sends this information to and which others your company subscribes to.

My question is how long does one stay on these blacklists. Two years? Five years? FOREVER?

I have never heard of regulations for this industry so in theory they could set it up anyway they chose with no recourse on a potential renters part.

I would be very interested in hearing what you have to say.

4. Rayan

Rayan Guest

RE: manda t.......