Neteller has infected email system

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by breeze, Jun 3, 2001.

1. breeze

breeze Well-Known Member

I was trying out their site, wrote to CS, got badtrans32@MM for an answer!!

Hmmm...not sure I want to do business at a commercial site that let their email get infected. I mean, you have to be really dumb to open the file without scanning it first. Wonder what else they do dumb?

breeze

2. breeze

breeze Well-Known Member

Would one of you tech folks tell me if that w32/BadTrans trojan can steal the financial information on that site?? Seriously, they have my bank acct number stored there.

Thanks,

breeze
    serenitybreeze@yahoo.com

3. GEORGE

GEORGE Well-Known Member

I'M NO COMPUTER EXPERT...but what I have herd is an E-MAIL virus seeks to find all your E-MAIL addresses you have on your computer, and sends the infected stuff to everyone you know...I think it is addressed with your name on it...

4. breeze

breeze Well-Known Member

This one steals information from the system it is infecting. It didn't get me - I didn't open the file.

breeze

5. Nave

Nave Well-Known Member

Breeze,
    Someone on their end must have the virus and edited or created the document you requested (or the default CS response doc). This virus can steal or leach info (IP address and password etc) and will send it back to the author. I would notify the company that they have a problem which may be serious. It is a good thing you did not open the document.

Here is information from McAfee.com:
    W32/BadTrans@MM

-Dave

Snippet
    Once running, the trojan attempts to mail the victim's IP Address to the author. Once this information is obtained, the author can connect to the infected system via the Internet and steal personal information such as usernames, and passwords. In addition, the trojan also contains a keylogger program which is capable of capturing other vital information such as credit card and bank account numbers and passwords.

6. breeze