Old Collection out of the Blue

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by vllygrrl, Mar 6, 2009.

1. vllygrrl

vllygrrl New Member

Two weeks ago, I received a past due notice for $817 from my college in CA, a school I have not attended since 1992. The notice did not come to me - it went to my parents house in my maiden name (I've been married since 2000). Way back in 1991, when I was a college student my roommate moved out after the first quarter. Two weeks into the 2nd quarter the school assigned me a new roommate - an exchange student from Australia named Kerry. I lived in a dorm, so I didn't have the option to decline. The girl lived with me for approximately 6 weeks before flying home because she was so homesick. I don't even remember her last name! In the course of those 6 weeks, she ran up the $817 worth of phone calls to Australia! My parents and I disputed the charges through phone calls and written letters over the next couple years - the university said I was liable because the phone was in my name (it had to be because there was a period of time where I was in the room by myself), while I claimed no fault because the university gave the girl a key to my room and I had no way to block usage of the phone when I was not there. We eventually came to an agreement and they stopped trying to collect the money from me.