paying off balances in full?

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by Michele, Jul 6, 2000.

1. Michele

Michele Guest

Hello everyone,
    I'm just getting started building my credit over the next three years before I want to go for a mortgage. I've started with a few VISA/MC like FutureCard and Capitol One and Orchard Bank.
    I've been told that if I pay off my balance in full each month before the grace period, that this is NOT building good credit. Do I really need to carry over a balance and only pay partial payments in order to show building credit over the years? I'm terribly uncomfotable owing, especially with such high interest rates. I prefer paying cash, but I'm now realizing the necessity of good credit records for a mortgage in the future.
    Can someone tell me if I can pay off my balances in full each month on every card and still come out with good scoring? If not, how would you recommend that I handle this? Also, with cards that charge a monthly "participation fee" does that count as a balance if I don't use the card that month?

Thank you,
    Michele

2. Jo

Jo Guest

RE: paying off balances in ful

As a mortgage broker I can tell you that most lenders require at least 3 open lines of credit. It doesn't matter if there is a balance as long as the accounts are open. If you want a good interest rate you will want to make sure that if you do carry a balance that you make your payments on time every month.

3. miles

miles Well-Known Member