Probably a Silly Question...

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by SheriHoppe, Oct 1, 2003.

1. SheriHoppe

SheriHoppe Well-Known Member

Like the title said this is probably really a silly question but bear with me I am very new to all of this.

If I send out my validation letters to these CA and they cannot prove they have reason to have my accounts to collect upon, they then take it off of my report, correct?

Then what happens? How does that look on my report?

From there does my credit begin to re-establish? How long does that usually take?

Also I just learned of this board on Sunday so i am very new to this, I had a GM card with a low balance, maybe about $900 on there, I was paying them $100 a month, it is a CA acting as a law office, (i think the law office part scared me) so i agreed to pay them the $100 a month, now I am sure its to late to stop paying them and send them a validation letter, correct? Since I have spoken with them in the past and agreed to pay this to them...(i did this before knowing anything about CA's and how slimy they are).

Thanks!

Sheri

2. Butch

Butch Well-Known Member

Hi Sheri,

We need some basic info.

What state are/were you in?
    What do you think is the date of the most recent payment you made immediately preceding the charge off?

Have you checked the SOL?

:)

3. SheriHoppe

I am in WI (have been the entire time)

I am not sure when the charge off was to be honest, I have been making payments to this "law office" since probably about May.

What is SOL?

I do not have a copy of my credit report, I know I know I should get that asap but as of right now I do not have that information. I do plan on getting it very soon though, I know that would help so much.

Thanks!

Sheri

4. Butch

Butch Well-Known Member

Re: Re: Probably a Silly Question...

Well that's the first thing you need to do. We need to figure some things out.

SOL = Statute of Limitations on collection.