Providian Credit Card

Discussion in 'Credit Talk' started by MSJ, Jun 8, 2000.

1. MSJ

MSJ Guest

I just received an offer for a Providian Visa Gold, with a limit of $300.00, with a deposit of $49.00. My credit is in the toilet, and I am looking for a new start. Is this a good way to rebuild? There is also of the promise of more credit in 4 months, based on the payment history. Any information? Thanks..

2. chastity

chastity Guest

I used the same offer to start re-buidling my credit. Be aware for starters, there is an annual fee (mine is $59). So, you are into them from the start. Also, I have had some experiences that even when I send my payment as early as two weeks prior the due date, it doesn't get posted and I am charged a late fee. They are saying, I guess, that it takes the mail two weeks. So, I have been battling this.

Good luck.

3. Alex - Cre

Alex - Cre Guest

Providian is a good way to start rebuilding your credit, although I have seen people posting complaints about them on this board, they do offer periodic credit increases if you keep a good payment history with them, but don't expect them to lower your interest rate any time soon though, they seem to be very bad at granting people that. Good luck to you in your new start!

Alex.

----------------
    Bad Credit? No Credit? Let Us Help!
    http://www.Creditinsiders.com

4. miles

miles Well-Known Member

That seems strange that they are offering you a gold card with a $300 limit. This is the first time I have heard of Providian offering this. I have a gold card, but my limit is over $6,000. I was not offered a gold card up front. I guess times are changing, huh? :)